Top Personal Injury Lawyers | 100% Free Consultations - We Fight Your Legal Battles | CEO LAWYER

Tennessee Rideshare Lawyer

Free Consultation

Ridesharing apps have changed life for the better in many ways. They provide a convenient, quick way to catch a ride in a variety of situations and make transportation easier for people who can’t drive or don’t have a vehicle.

However, like other drivers on the road, an Uber or Lyft driver can get into an accident. We get a lot of queries from people who have been hurt in some sort of accident involving a rideshare, and the question of liability can be complicated by several factors.

A Tennessee rideshare lawyer can sort out your particular situation and help you make a plan to pursue compensation for your injuries. Depending on the details of your case, there may be multiple parties from whom you can seek compensation.

We will do everything we can to help you recover as much as possible. We know dealing with medical bills, lost time at work, and the physical and mental pain of your injuries can be exhausting, and we want to relieve as much of that burden as possible.A gavel and soundblock on a felt surface, with a miniature car and a cab depicting a collision in the background.

How Can a Tennessee Rideshare Attorney Help Me?

Ali Awad, the founder and managing attorney at The CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm, is an experienced personal injury lawyer who understands Tennessee’s laws about rideshare drivers and accidents. Known as “The CEO Lawyer,” Mr. Awad started with a small law firm that he quickly grew into an 8-figure firm in only three short years.

Eventually, that firm was voted the fastest-growing law firm in the United States, coming out ahead of 499 other firms in 2021. The CEO Lawyer also offers entertaining but useful legal advice to more than a million followers on social media.

If you or a loved one have been hurt in an accident involving a rideshare, don’t wait to call Ali Awad for a no-obligation, free consultation of your case. It won’t cost you anything to explore your options, and if you want to move forward, The CEO Lawyer and his team work on a contingency basis – which means they don’t get paid unless and until you do.

There is no risk to calling (423) 777-8888 and learning more about your options for compensation.

Here are some common questions and situations that come up when dealing with rideshare accidents:

Can I Sue Uber/Lyft Directly?

In most cases, this is not the best strategy to seek compensation for your injuries. Both these companies maintain that their drivers are independent contractors and responsible for their own driving and accidents.

However, these companies also offer relatively robust insurance policies for their drivers, at least when the driver is in “Drive” mode on the app or engaged with a fare. In other words, if the driver was carrying a passenger or on their way to pick one up and they caused your accident, you should be covered by one of these policies.

Depending on whether or not the driver had picked up a fare, was on their way to pick up a fare, or was just driving around waiting for a fare, the policy limit may range between $50,000 and $1 million. The second option will almost always cover your damages, except in very rare situations.

The first option may leave you with more bills than compensation. In these situations, there may be other ways to seek compensation, such as your own uninsured motorist coverage.

Your lawyer can help you figure out if other parties are liable as well. Occasionally, you may have a claim against the company if they made a serious error in choosing contractors or were negligent in other ways, but in most situations, there are more efficient paths to seek compensation.

What if I Was a Pedestrian or Bike Rider and a Rideshare Driver Hit Me?

These accidents can be very serious, as people on foot or riding a bike have little protection from a two-ton vehicle. If the driver was in “Drive” mode or carrying a passenger for the rideshare company, one of their insurance policies should kick in.

However, it’s important to remember that just because a vehicle has a rideshare sticker doesn’t mean the driver is always driving for the company. If they were not signed into the app at the time and were just driving for their own personal reasons, you will need to file a claim with their personal auto insurance carrier.

Tennessee only requires $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, so if your bills are extensive, you may need to talk with your lawyer about other options. Again, your own uninsured motorist or “med pay” plans may kick in if you have these.

It is worth mentioning that Tennessee does not require them. The driver may also be liable, although suing them may not be a good option if they lack significant assets to seize.

What if I Was Riding in a Rideshare and Another Driver Caused an Accident in Which I Was Hurt?

Tennessee uses comparative fault statutes for personal injury claims. These statutes are designed with the understanding that many accidents are the fault of more than one party.

A person who was less than 50 percent at fault can seek damages from a party who was more than 50 percent at fault, but their award will be lessened by the percentage of fault assigned to them. This can complicate a situation with a rideshare in several ways.

If the rideshare driver was hurt too, they may sue the other driver’s insurance company. If the other driver has only the minimum insurance, there will be even less to go around for two claims.

Additionally, if the case goes to court, it’s possible the rideshare driver will be assigned some amount of fault if they contributed to the accident in any way. This means your compensation could be reduced further even though you weren’t driving or at fault.

In some situations, suing the at-fault driver directly may be an option. A Tennessee rideshare accident attorney can help you figure out the best way to handle these complex situations.

The good news is that if the at-fault driver is completely uninsured, your rideshare’s corporate insurance should provide up to $1 million in coverage for all occupants of the car (you, the driver, and any other passengers).

A Rideshare Driver Hit Me but Is Claiming the Accident Was My Fault, and Their Insurance Won’t Pay. What Do I Do?

Call a rideshare accident lawyer now. This is a common tactic from insurers trying to avoid paying claims in any kind of car accident, whether or not it involves a rideshare.

Because of the comparative fault rules, insurers know that if they can convince the court the other driver was even partly at fault, they can at least reduce the amount they have to pay, if not get out of paying entirely. But they also know that they probably won’t have to go to court.

Many people just think that there’s nothing they can do or that it really must have been their fault and deal with the bills themselves. Before you come to the same conclusion, speak with a qualified attorney.

In many cases, the insurer’s basis for claiming you were at fault is not that strong. Your lawyer can let the insurer know all the evidence you have that the accident was not your fault and that you’ll be happy to explain it in detail at a trial.

Sometimes, this inspires the insurance company to rethink their denial and discuss a settlement offer. If it doesn’t, a lawsuit is still an option.

Should I Accept This Settlement Offer?

You should definitely consult an attorney about the specific offer from an insurer before accepting. Another common tactic of insurers is to make a lowball offer that doesn’t cover all of your damages.

When you accept it, you agree the insurance company has no further responsibility to pay your claims, but you may later realize you have additional accident-related expenses. Don’t let this happen!

Talk to an attorney – they can go over all your damages, including future expenses you may not have considered, and help you figure out what a reasonable offer would be and then compare it to your current offer. If the current figure doesn’t measure up, your lawyer can negotiate with the insurer on your behalf to help get you a fair amount of compensation.

What if I Wasn’t in an Accident, but the Rideshare Driver Attacked or Assaulted Me?

Unfortunately, these situations happen more frequently than most of us would like to think about. Rideshare companies do run background checks on their drivers, but this can’t eliminate all potential issues.

Depending on the situation, you may be able to make a claim against the company, their insurance, or the driver. Get treatment for your injuries, and speak with an attorney right away to protect your legal rights and work to get the driver off the street.

Our Tennessee Rideshare Law Firm Can Help You Take On the Big Companies

Ali Awad, The CEO Lawyer, is an experienced negotiator who will help you identify every possible avenue for seeking compensation. More than twenty years of experience means The CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Firm’s attorneys have a successful track record of over 99%, and they’re ready to help you.

If you have questions or concerns about your rideshare accident or assault, call The CEO Lawyer and his team now at  (423) 777-8888 for a free, confidential, no-obligation consultation. We’ll help you understand your options for seeking compensation and answer your questions.

Find Out What Your Case Is Worth Here

Tell Us More About Your Injury Below So That We Can Get You The Most Money

All Fields Required *

Step 1 of 7

How did you get hurt?

How did you get hurt?(Required)

Frequently Asked Questions

After a personal injury, you're bound to have legal questions. The CEO Lawyer Ali Awad can provide you with answers to these questions, just as he's given answers to his millions of curious social media followers. Take a look at some of the most common personal injury law questions for general information, and then reach out to one of our seasoned attorneys for specific guidance on your case!

Contact us now (833) 254-2923.

Help Negotiating with Insurance Carriers

To quickly resolve matters following an accident, insurance companies will offer you less than you deserve in compensation for your injuries. Many victims feel pressured to accept these offers as the bills begin to pile up, but that is rarely a good idea. The insurance company is looking to protect its bottom line; and will offer injured victims less than they deserve. An experienced personal injury attorney understands how to negotiate with the insurance company and can look out for your best interests by getting you the compensation you deserve after an injury. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, it is important to avoid negotiating or providing recorded statements to the insurance company without first seeking help from a qualified personal injury attorney.

Do You Have a Personal Injury Case?

The best way to determine if you have a personal injury case is to speak with a knowledgeable attorney. Our legal professionals have the expertise to evaluate your case and determine a strong legal strategy so that you can obtain the greatest amount of compensation possible under the law. We will enlist investigators, assistants, and other specialists to collect accident reports, speak with witnesses to your accident, and put together a plan. While you focus on your physical recovery, we will remain committed to fighting for the compensation that you deserve.

Tennessee's Personal Injury & Accident Firm

Accident victims have a limited time to file a personal injury lawsuit. This time period is referred to as the statute of limitations, and in Chattanooga, it lasts only one year. This means that if you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, you have only one year to pursue a personal injury suit. If you wait too long to reach out to an experienced attorney, you might be forever barred from seeking the compensation you deserve.

What to Expect From Your Initial Consultation With a Personal Injury Attorney?

During your initial consultation with CEO Lawyer team, we will go over the important details of your personal injury accident, which include the nature and extent of your injuries, how your injuries have impacted your ability to earn a paycheck, the cost of your medical treatment, and whether further medical treatment will be required. We will answer any questions you might have, as well, in regards to our experience, our track record of success, and what to expect from the legal process. Many personal injury victims wonder if they will be able to afford the legal fees required to pursue a lawsuit. CEO Lawyer injury and accident attorneys will not ask for any type of upfront fee unless we are successful in obtaining compensation for you. That means that if you have been harmed in a motor vehicle accident, slip and fall accident, defective product accident, or any other type of personal injury accident, you can absolutely afford to contact our law office today for assistance. In fact, you cannot afford to wait. Reach out today. We understand that some accident victims might have already obtained the assistance of an attorney but may be dissatisfied with the services provided. We are standing by and prepared to help you change legal representation, regardless of where you are in the process.

Speak to an Experienced Personal Injury Attorney Today

If you or a loved one has been injured in any type of personal injury accident, you should not hesitate to speak with the experienced attorneys at CEO Lawyer personal injury law firm. Call, email, or fill out our online contact form today so that we can begin helping you pursue the compensation you deserve.