- Our Legal Team
- Practice Areas
- Free Resources
- Case Results
- Contact Us
Georgia law states that anyone involved in a motor vehicle collision must remain at the scene, yet people often flee if they have the opportunity. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there were approximately 281,685 motor vehicle traffic accidents, in which 42,795 people died and 125,454 people were injured in 2022.
The Marietta hit-and-run accident attorneys at the CEO Lawyer can help if you or your loved one have been involved in an accident where the driver who caused the collision left the scene. Whoever was responsible for causing the collision is liable for compensating the victim for any damages caused by the accident.
If the driver whose negligence resulted in the collision decides to leave the scene without at least exchanging identification or insurance information, the pursuit of compensation for the damages you have suffered is a challenging task.
Hit-and-run accidents are more common than most people realize. According to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, there were about 737,100 hit-and-run accidents in 2015.
This means that in the United States, a hit-and-run accident occurs every 43 seconds.
Car crashes are not the only type of hit-and-run accident. A large number of bicyclists and pedestrians also become victims of getting struck by vehicles that do not remain at the scene of the accident.
The victims in these situations have a greater chance of suffering from severe injuries that will require expensive long-term medical treatment and rehabilitation. The victims may even be killed by the collision or by the seriousness of their injuries, especially if they are left without any medical help.
When the driver responsible for the accident drives away, the victim or their family faces possible financial devastation on top of their injuries and property damage.
The CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm is ready to help the victims of hit-and-run accidents. We provide our full dedication to your case and will inform you of all your legal options for seeking compensation for the damages you have endured as the result of a driver’s negligence.
We have extensive knowledge of how to help the victims of hit-and-run accidents.
Georgia law requires drivers involved in a car crash to stay at the scene. When a driver is involved in a collision that results in an injury or death, that driver must remain at the accident site until police arrive and are given permission to leave.
The driver may be transported to a medical facility by emergency medical personnel if necessary. Otherwise, leaving the scene of an accident is a violation of the law and a felony offense.
Georgia has strict penalties for drivers who do not stop and stay after a collision, especially when an injury or death is involved. The penalty for leaving the scene of an accident involving an injury depends on the severity of the injury and ranges from a misdemeanor charge to a felony.
The fine for someone’s first hit and run in Georgia is between $300 and $1,000, and incarceration for up to a year. If the accident includes a felony charge, the penalty has increased fines and up to five years of imprisonment.
After a collision where there is only minor property damage of under $500 and there are no injuries, the drivers are still required to exchange information, including:
Minor accidents that did not cause injuries and where any property damage will cost less than $500 to repair do not require police involvement. If the other driver leaves the scene after a minor accident, contacting the police will give you official documentation of the incident, which will help you when you file a claim for compensation.
It is highly recommended that you call the police to report any accident to avoid being accused of being a hit-and-run driver. You will also need the police to file a claim for compensation, so even in minor accidents, protect yourself and call the police.
When a driver collides with an unoccupied vehicle, that driver is required by law to make an honest attempt to find the owner of the vehicle to exchange information. If the owner is unable to be located, the driver is still responsible for providing their information to the owner and reporting the accident.
Many drivers choose to leave a note for the owner to find when they return to their vehicle.
Leaving a car accident scene is illegal. Drivers who choose to drive away from a collision are risking felony charges for this serious offense. If convicted, they would receive a criminal record and would likely spend time in a state prison.
Yet many people decide that leaving the scene of the accident is their best option. The most common reason why drivers choose to flee the scene of the accident is to circumvent serious criminal charges, which may include the following:
There are occasional instances where the driver did not realize that a collision occurred. These situations typically involve distracted driving, driver intoxication, high speeds, or driving during times of low visibility.
Unfortunately, victims of hit-and-run accidents are not able to sue for compensation for the damages they have suffered when the driver responsible for causing the accident cannot be found. Every collision is different, but your hit-and-run accident attorney will give you advice on your legal options, given your unique circumstances.
Most often, you will be able to file a claim with the uninsured motorist coverage on your own car insurance policy.
Georgia requires all registered vehicles to have at least a minimum amount of insurance coverage. This mandatory insurance does not include an uninsured motorist policy, which would cover property damage and bodily injury from a hit-and-run accident.
Insurance companies must offer this coverage, but it is possible to reject it in writing. If you did not reject this policy, the uninsured motorist coverage should pay for any damages you received from a hit-and-run driver.
Your Marietta hit-and-run attorney will file an uninsured motorist claim with your insurance company if the driver responsible for your injuries cannot be located or identified. The policy limits for uninsured motorist coverage are equivalent to the limits of your property damage and bodily injury coverages.
If you find yourself involved in a hit-and-run accident, you may feel tempted to follow the other vehicle. Any attempt to chase another vehicle is extremely dangerous and should not be considered an option.
The best thing you can do is stay at the scene of the accident, call the police, take pictures of the accident scene and your own vehicle, and record as much information about the other vehicle and driver as possible. Some information that will be very helpful for your case includes:
Even filing a claim with your own insurance company can be challenging. All insurance companies are businesses and they have to protect themselves against fraudulent or embellished claims in order to stay in operation and to keep their customers’ premiums as low as possible.
Hit-and-run accidents are difficult to prove, especially when the damage appears to have been caused by your own actions. Witnesses and a detailed police report will help you in these circumstances, but an experienced hit-and-run accident lawyer will be your greatest asset.
Skilled hit-and-run accident attorneys will conduct an investigation of your accident to try to identify the driver who caused the collision and left the scene. They will use all the information and descriptions that you can provide for them, as well as the police report.
They will question any documented witnesses and procure any available surveillance footage. Depending on the circumstances, they may even consult with an accident reconstruction specialist to determine exactly what happened during your collision to prove that the fault lies with the driver who left.
Fleeing the scene of an accident is cowardly and illegal. The Marietta hit-and-run accident attorneys at the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm are experienced and will make sure that you get the compensation you need to recover from the damage caused by the driver who left.
We know what you are going through and how to deal with difficult insurance companies.
Call the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm today at (833) 254-2923 for a free consultation. We give all our clients personalized advice and care because we understand that every situation is unique.
Tell Us More About Your Injury Below So That We Can Get You The Most Money
After a personal injury, you're bound to have legal questions. The CEO Lawyer Ali Awad can provide you with answers to these questions, just as he's given answers to his millions of curious social media followers. Take a look at some of the most common personal injury law questions for general information, and then reach out to one of our seasoned attorneys for specific guidance on your case!
To quickly resolve matters following an accident, insurance companies will offer you less than you deserve in compensation for your injuries. Many victims feel pressured to accept these offers as the bills begin to pile up, but that is rarely a good idea. The insurance company is looking to protect its bottom line; and will offer injured victims less than they deserve. An experienced personal injury attorney understands how to negotiate with the insurance company and can look out for your best interests by getting you the compensation you deserve after an injury. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, it is important to avoid negotiating or providing recorded statements to the insurance company without first seeking help from a qualified personal injury attorney.
The best way to determine if you have a personal injury case is to speak with a knowledgeable attorney. Our legal professionals have the expertise to evaluate your case and determine a strong legal strategy so that you can obtain the greatest amount of compensation possible under the law. We will enlist investigators, assistants, and other specialists to collect accident reports, speak with witnesses to your accident, and put together a plan. While you focus on your physical recovery, we will remain committed to fighting for the compensation that you deserve.
Accident victims have a limited time to file a personal injury lawsuit. This time period is referred to as the statute of limitations, and in Atlanta, it lasts only two years. This means that if you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, you have only two years to pursue a personal injury suit. If you wait too long to reach out to an experienced attorney, you might be forever barred from seeking the compensation you deserve.
During your initial consultation with CEO Lawyer team, we will go over the important details of your personal injury accident, which include the nature and extent of your injuries, how your injuries have impacted your ability to earn a paycheck, the cost of your medical treatment, and whether further medical treatment will be required. We will answer any questions you might have, as well, in regards to our experience, our track record of success, and what to expect from the legal process. Many personal injury victims wonder if they will be able to afford the legal fees required to pursue a lawsuit. CEO Lawyer injury and accident attorneys will not ask for any type of upfront fee unless we are successful in obtaining compensation for you. That means that if you have been harmed in a motor vehicle accident, slip and fall accident, defective product accident, or any other type of personal injury accident, you can absolutely afford to contact our law office today for assistance. In fact, you cannot afford to wait. Reach out today. We understand that some accident victims might have already obtained the assistance of an attorney but may be dissatisfied with the services provided. We are standing by and prepared to help you change legal representation, regardless of where you are in the process.
If you or a loved one has been injured in any type of personal injury accident, you should not hesitate to speak with the experienced attorneys at CEO Lawyer personal injury law firm. Call, email, or fill out our online contact form today so that we can begin helping you pursue the compensation you deserve.