Another thing to understand is that it isn’t always worth the insurance carrier’s time or effort to go after the other driver. If you’ve been hurt in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist, you have the legal right to sue them yourself. However, in most situations, we advise against this. Why? Because if the uninsured driver doesn’t have significant assets to be seized in a lawsuit, you will likely sink a lot of time and court costs into a lawsuit for no real reward. For the same reason, an insurance company might not pursue a person they don’t think they can recover costs from.
If you’re trying to get your expenses paid after an accident with an uninsured motorist, a Georgia car accident lawyer can help. Attorney Ali Awad founded the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm to help people injured in car accidents and other situations involving another’s negligence. The CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm quickly expanded into one of the fastest-growing law firms in the country, and Mr. Awad also dispenses timely legal advice to more than a million followers on social media. Please call today for a free consultation about your case.
Do I Need Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Yes. This is an important way to protect yourself and your finances if you’re in an accident due to circumstances beyond your control. Driving defensively is an excellent way to reduce your risk of being in a car crash, but it can’t prevent every collision. Sometimes another driver’s negligence leaves you in a situation where there is nothing you can do to avoid an accident, and if that driver is uninsured, you could find yourself with a pile of medical and car repair bills.
As we mentioned earlier, suing the other driver is unlikely to cover your expenses in most cases. If they lack insurance coverage, your main avenue for compensation will be your insurance. But your standard, required liability insurance ($25,000 for bodily injury per person and $25,000 for property damage in Georgia) only covers another motorist’s damages if you are at fault in an accident. It will not help if an uninsured driver causes the wreck.
What Kind of Insurance Do You Have?
Many people we talk with have a hard time answering this question. It’s understandable – you may have had the same policy for years. It can be hard to remember exactly what kind of coverage you purchased, and the different options could have been confusing when you bought them. But if you’ve recently had an accident, you’ll find out very quickly what your insurance does and doesn’t cover.
There are three types of insurance that we look for when trying to get a client compensation after an uninsured/underinsured driver accident:
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. These policies start at $25,000 in coverage, the same as minimum bodily injury liability and property damage liability requirements. If the at-fault driver has no insurance, you will have access to $25,000 for your medical and other expenses related to your injuries and $25,000 for car repair/replacement costs. The “underinsured” part becomes relevant if the other driver is insured, but their coverage is for a lower amount than your damages. Here it’s important to understand that not all UM/UI policies are the same. A stacking policy will provide another $25,000 (or whatever the policy limit is) on top of the underinsured driver’s coverage. A non-stacking policy will not.
Collision coverage. This is like MedPay for your car. If you can’t collect from another driver, collision coverage will take care of your car repair expenses, usually after you pay a deductible.
What if I Was Hit by an Uninsured Motorist While Walking or Biking?
Your UM/UI bodily injury insurance covers you, not your car. It doesn’t matter if you are walking or driving. You should be able to access your UM/UI benefits if the at-fault driver is uninsured or underinsured.
What if My UM/UI Claim Was Denied?
As with other types of claims, insurance companies will always look for excuses not to pay. In regular liability cases, where you claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance, the most common excuse is that the accident was your fault. It’s less common with UM/UI claims since you’re dealing with your own insurance company, but it can still happen. This is not a concern with MedPay or Collision policies since those cover damages where you’re at fault. However, your insurance adjuster may find various other clauses in the policy that they claim to rule out coverage of your damages for one reason or another. If any of these situations occur, contact a car accident lawyer immediately.
Call the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm Today
If you’re recovering from an uninsured driver crash or other accident and need help securing compensation for your losses, please contact the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm for a free consultation. We’re happy to go over the details of your case, describe the options, and answer your questions. There is no obligation, and if we take your case, you don’t owe us anything until we win.
Find Out What Your Case Is Worth Here
Tell Us More About Your Injury Below So That We Can Get You The Most Money
All Fields Required *
Frequently Asked Questions
After a personal injury, you're bound to have legal questions. The CEO Lawyer Ali Awad can provide you with answers to these questions, just as he's given answers to his millions of curious social media followers. Take a look at some of the most common personal injury law questions for general information, and then reach out to one of our seasoned attorneys for specific guidance on your case!
To quickly resolve matters following an accident, insurance companies will offer you less than you deserve in compensation for your injuries. Many victims feel pressured to accept these offers as the bills begin to pile up, but that is rarely a good idea. The insurance company is looking to protect its bottom line; and will offer injured victims less than they deserve. An experienced personal injury attorney understands how to negotiate with the insurance company and can look out for your best interests by getting you the compensation you deserve after an injury. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, it is important to avoid negotiating or providing recorded statements to the insurance company without first seeking help from a qualified personal injury attorney.
Do You Have a Personal Injury Case?
The best way to determine if you have a personal injury case is to speak with a knowledgeable attorney. Our legal professionals have the expertise to evaluate your case and determine a strong legal strategy so that you can obtain the greatest amount of compensation possible under the law. We will enlist investigators, assistants, and other specialists to collect accident reports, speak with witnesses to your accident, and put together a plan. While you focus on your physical recovery, we will remain committed to fighting for the compensation that you deserve.
Georgia's Personal Injury & Accident Firm
Accident victims have a limited time to file a personal injury lawsuit. This time period is referred to as the statute of limitations, and in Atlanta, it lasts only two years. This means that if you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, you have only two years to pursue a personal injury suit. If you wait too long to reach out to an experienced attorney, you might be forever barred from seeking the compensation you deserve.
What to Expect From Your Initial Consultation With a Personal Injury Attorney?
During your initial consultation with CEO Lawyer team, we will go over the important details of your personal injury accident, which include the nature and extent of your injuries, how your injuries have impacted your ability to earn a paycheck, the cost of your medical treatment, and whether further medical treatment will be required. We will answer any questions you might have, as well, in regards to our experience, our track record of success, and what to expect from the legal process.
Many personal injury victims wonder if they will be able to afford the legal fees required to pursue a lawsuit. CEO Lawyer injury and accident attorneys will not ask for any type of upfront fee unless we are successful in obtaining compensation for you. That means that if you have been harmed in a motor vehicle accident, slip and fall accident, defective product accident, or any other type of personal injury accident, you can absolutely afford to contact our law office today for assistance. In fact, you cannot afford to wait. Reach out today.
We understand that some accident victims might have already obtained the assistance of an attorney but may be dissatisfied with the services provided. We are standing by and prepared to help you change legal representation, regardless of where you are in the process.
Speak to an Experienced Personal Injury Attorney Today
If you or a loved one has been injured in any type of personal injury accident, you should not hesitate to speak with the experienced attorneys at CEO Lawyer personal injury law firm. Call, email, or fill out our online contact form today so that we can begin helping you pursue the compensation you deserve.