This is not an ideal situation, but in many cases, you may still have options for getting your costs covered. The first thing to think about is who was at fault for the accident. This isn’t always as clear as it might seem – in fact, sometimes the police report doesn’t reference fault at all. If the responding officer sees no clear evidence of fault, they may not ticket anyone for the accident itself.
However, they will almost certainly write you a ticket for driving without car insurance. You can also be charged with a misdemeanor, which typically results in a 60-day suspension of your driver’s license and car registration. As a result, your insurance rates will probably go up when you buy car insurance.
Do not assume you were at fault when you may not have all the information about what happened, and never admit fault after an accident. There are many situations where both drivers’ actions contributed to the collision, and it may have been mostly the other driver’s fault. Determining who is mostly at fault is very important to what kind of assistance you can get with your medical bills or repair costs, so don’t do guesswork on your own – you need expert legal advice immediately.
Attorney Ali Awad is experienced in getting to the bottom of car accident cases and fighting for his clients’ rights to compensation. He founded the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm and quickly turned it into one of the fastest-growing law firms in the country. In his spare time, he makes engaging yet informative posts about legal topics for more than a million followers on social media. If you or a loved one are trying to make a plan for dealing with accident-related costs, please contact the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm immediately for a free, no-obligation consultation.
How to Get Your Costs Covered After an Accident Without Insurance
In most situations, your best bet for covering your expenses and avoiding a bill for the other driver’s costs is to demonstrate that they were at fault. To do this, you need to know that Georgia uses comparative negligence statutes for personal injury cases like car accidents. How does this affect your case? The most important thing to understand is that the other driver doesn’t have to be 100 percent at fault to be responsible for your damages. They only have to be more than 50 percent responsible for you to collect damages. One other fact of note is that your compensation will be reduced by any percentage of fault you do have, so it’s in your best interest to provide as much evidence as possible that the other driver caused the collision.
Your attorney will talk over the details of your accident with you. If they believe you have a strong case for the other driver being at fault based on available evidence, they may recommend you file a claim with the other driver’s liability insurance. This is coverage the other driver has, which pays for another party’s bodily injury and property liability if they cause an accident.
In Georgia, the minimum liability coverage is $25,000 each for bodily injury and property damage, but some drivers purchase larger amounts of coverage. Whatever limit their particular policy has, you will be able to collect damages up to that amount. But because insurance companies make more money when they don’t pay out claims, you may initially be denied for a variety of reasons. The most common is that the accident was mostly your fault, so you should have to pay. There may also be arguments that the policy does not cover certain things it should cover.
Regardless of why you’ve received a denial, the best way to fight it is to talk with a car accident lawyer right away. Some people call up the insurance company and try to tell them why they’re wrong. We understand the temptation, but this usually doesn’t work out well. Insurance adjusters love to record their conversations, which they may inform you about by mumbling or speed-talking their way through a line like, “We record all calls for quality control purposes.” Many people miss this part. Or they may think it’s okay because they’re just going to say that the accident wasn’t their fault anyway.
Unfortunately, insurance adjusters also have a habit of misconstruing what people say to mean that they caused the accident. The insurance company rep may take something you said out of context, apply their own spin on the meaning, and hold it up as proof that the wreck was mostly your fault. The way to avoid this situation is to call a lawyer instead of the insurance company.
What if the Other Driver Thinks It’s My Fault and Tries to Sue Me?
This can happen, and it may complicate your claim, but just because they think it’s your fault doesn’t mean they can prove it. If you get any kind of bill or legal summons regarding your accident or compensation for the other party’s bills, take it to your attorney right away.
Depending on the situation, your lawyer may reiterate that you were not at fault, remind the other party’s attorney of any evidence their client was at fault should they go to trial, or simply explain that you lack the finances to pay their claim. This last point is important because lawsuits are expensive, and most people will drop them if they realize you don’t have any assets they can seize. Even if they can prove you were mostly at fault, it would still save them time and money to use their uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage instead of putting countless hours and court costs into a lawsuit.
Get the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm in Your Corner
If you or a loved one are dealing with difficulties after an accident without insurance, know that you may still have options for compensation. The best way to find out what you can do is to talk with an experienced car accident lawyer. Please contact the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm for a free consultation. If you want to proceed with a claim and we take your case, there are no up-front costs for you. We work on a contingency basis, so you pay nothing until we secure a settlement.
Find Out What Your Case Is Worth Here
Tell Us More About Your Injury Below So That We Can Get You The Most Money
All Fields Required *
Frequently Asked Questions
After a personal injury, you're bound to have legal questions. The CEO Lawyer Ali Awad can provide you with answers to these questions, just as he's given answers to his millions of curious social media followers. Take a look at some of the most common personal injury law questions for general information, and then reach out to one of our seasoned attorneys for specific guidance on your case!
To quickly resolve matters following an accident, insurance companies will offer you less than you deserve in compensation for your injuries. Many victims feel pressured to accept these offers as the bills begin to pile up, but that is rarely a good idea. The insurance company is looking to protect its bottom line; and will offer injured victims less than they deserve. An experienced personal injury attorney understands how to negotiate with the insurance company and can look out for your best interests by getting you the compensation you deserve after an injury. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, it is important to avoid negotiating or providing recorded statements to the insurance company without first seeking help from a qualified personal injury attorney.
Do You Have a Personal Injury Case?
The best way to determine if you have a personal injury case is to speak with a knowledgeable attorney. Our legal professionals have the expertise to evaluate your case and determine a strong legal strategy so that you can obtain the greatest amount of compensation possible under the law. We will enlist investigators, assistants, and other specialists to collect accident reports, speak with witnesses to your accident, and put together a plan. While you focus on your physical recovery, we will remain committed to fighting for the compensation that you deserve.
Georgia's Personal Injury & Accident Firm
Accident victims have a limited time to file a personal injury lawsuit. This time period is referred to as the statute of limitations, and in Atlanta, it lasts only two years. This means that if you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, you have only two years to pursue a personal injury suit. If you wait too long to reach out to an experienced attorney, you might be forever barred from seeking the compensation you deserve.
What to Expect From Your Initial Consultation With a Personal Injury Attorney?
During your initial consultation with CEO Lawyer team, we will go over the important details of your personal injury accident, which include the nature and extent of your injuries, how your injuries have impacted your ability to earn a paycheck, the cost of your medical treatment, and whether further medical treatment will be required. We will answer any questions you might have, as well, in regards to our experience, our track record of success, and what to expect from the legal process.
Many personal injury victims wonder if they will be able to afford the legal fees required to pursue a lawsuit. CEO Lawyer injury and accident attorneys will not ask for any type of upfront fee unless we are successful in obtaining compensation for you. That means that if you have been harmed in a motor vehicle accident, slip and fall accident, defective product accident, or any other type of personal injury accident, you can absolutely afford to contact our law office today for assistance. In fact, you cannot afford to wait. Reach out today.
We understand that some accident victims might have already obtained the assistance of an attorney but may be dissatisfied with the services provided. We are standing by and prepared to help you change legal representation, regardless of where you are in the process.
Speak to an Experienced Personal Injury Attorney Today
If you or a loved one has been injured in any type of personal injury accident, you should not hesitate to speak with the experienced attorneys at CEO Lawyer personal injury law firm. Call, email, or fill out our online contact form today so that we can begin helping you pursue the compensation you deserve.