Drunk driving is a serious issue in Georgia and all over the country. Even though motorists know that driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is unsafe and illegal, many continue to do it. Even with Uber, Lyft, and other ride-sharing companies becoming more prevalent, drunk driving still happens much more often than it should.
The problem with driving while intoxicated is that the person under the influence tends to hurt others. Deciding to drive after drinking alcohol or using drugs can have dire consequences for everyone on the roadways. These substances impair judgment and slow down reaction time, leading to serious car accidents.
The good news is that drunk driving accidents are not simply considered acts of negligence under Georgia law. So if a drunk driver hits you in Georgia, you will likely receive a decent settlement—at least $25,000. Read on to learn how this works.
Drunk Driving Accident Claims Under Georgia Law
Most car crashes are classified as “accidents.” After all, nobody wants a crash to happen. However, driving while sober is different from driving while intoxicated. When a person is intoxicated, they make a conscious decision to drive. Had that person not decided to drink, likely, the accident would not have occurred.
On top of that, driving while under the influence is a crime under Georgia law. Under Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A) 40-6-394, serious injury caused by intoxication is illegal, as is O.C.G.A. 40-6-393 (homicide by vehicle).
When drunk driving leads to serious injury or death, the intoxicated driver can be convicted of criminally negligent conduct. In addition, Georgia law allows the victim to seek punitive damages in an accident claim, whereas punitive damages are not available in typical accident claims.
Georgia law requires motorists to carry a minimum of $25,000 in insurance coverage for property damage and bodily injury. Because of this, you are fairly certain to receive at least this amount if a drunk driver injures you. On top of that, you can receive punitive damages, capped at $250,000 in Georgia. You can also receive compensatory damages to compensate you for the injuries and harm you suffered due to the accident. These damages include economic damages such as medical bills, lost wages, and property damage. Emotional damages include pain and suffering, mental anguish, disability, and loss of enjoyment of life. Funeral expenses would also be covered if the accident led to a fatality.
Seek Drunk Driving Accident Legal Help from the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm
A drunk driving accident can cause significant injuries and even death. Make sure you receive the compensation you deserve for the damages you have suffered by working with an injury an accident attorney.
Do not let your insurance company take advantage of you. Georgia auto accident attorney Ali Awad and his legal team will work hard to get you the best settlement possible. He offers aggressive representation for car accident victims. Schedule a free consultation today by calling (833) 254-2923.
Find Out What Your Case Is Worth Here
Tell Us More About Your Injury Below So That We Can Get You The Most Money
All Fields Required *
Frequently Asked Questions
After a personal injury, you're bound to have legal questions. The CEO Lawyer Ali Awad can provide you with answers to these questions, just as he's given answers to his millions of curious social media followers. Take a look at some of the most common personal injury law questions for general information, and then reach out to one of our seasoned attorneys for specific guidance on your case!
To quickly resolve matters following an accident, insurance companies will offer you less than you deserve in compensation for your injuries. Many victims feel pressured to accept these offers as the bills begin to pile up, but that is rarely a good idea. The insurance company is looking to protect its bottom line; and will offer injured victims less than they deserve. An experienced personal injury attorney understands how to negotiate with the insurance company and can look out for your best interests by getting you the compensation you deserve after an injury. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, it is important to avoid negotiating or providing recorded statements to the insurance company without first seeking help from a qualified personal injury attorney.
Do You Have a Personal Injury Case?
The best way to determine if you have a personal injury case is to speak with a knowledgeable attorney. Our legal professionals have the expertise to evaluate your case and determine a strong legal strategy so that you can obtain the greatest amount of compensation possible under the law. We will enlist investigators, assistants, and other specialists to collect accident reports, speak with witnesses to your accident, and put together a plan. While you focus on your physical recovery, we will remain committed to fighting for the compensation that you deserve.
Georgia's Personal Injury & Accident Firm
Accident victims have a limited time to file a personal injury lawsuit. This time period is referred to as the statute of limitations, and in Atlanta, it lasts only two years. This means that if you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, you have only two years to pursue a personal injury suit. If you wait too long to reach out to an experienced attorney, you might be forever barred from seeking the compensation you deserve.
What to Expect From Your Initial Consultation With a Personal Injury Attorney?
During your initial consultation with CEO Lawyer team, we will go over the important details of your personal injury accident, which include the nature and extent of your injuries, how your injuries have impacted your ability to earn a paycheck, the cost of your medical treatment, and whether further medical treatment will be required. We will answer any questions you might have, as well, in regards to our experience, our track record of success, and what to expect from the legal process.
Many personal injury victims wonder if they will be able to afford the legal fees required to pursue a lawsuit. CEO Lawyer injury and accident attorneys will not ask for any type of upfront fee unless we are successful in obtaining compensation for you. That means that if you have been harmed in a motor vehicle accident, slip and fall accident, defective product accident, or any other type of personal injury accident, you can absolutely afford to contact our law office today for assistance. In fact, you cannot afford to wait. Reach out today.
We understand that some accident victims might have already obtained the assistance of an attorney but may be dissatisfied with the services provided. We are standing by and prepared to help you change legal representation, regardless of where you are in the process.
Speak to an Experienced Personal Injury Attorney Today
If you or a loved one has been injured in any type of personal injury accident, you should not hesitate to speak with the experienced attorneys at CEO Lawyer personal injury law firm. Call, email, or fill out our online contact form today so that we can begin helping you pursue the compensation you deserve.