When a severe injury sidelines you from performing your job duties, you shouldn’t have to worry about losing income or finding the money to cover your expenses. You don’t have to wait for the physical therapy or doctor appointments to be over so you can get out of the house. The workers’ compensation system requires employers to pay for medical bills and related daily living expenses for Georgia residents who have suffered traumatic injuries due to unsafe work conditions.
If you’re hurt at your workplace and looking to obtain workers’ compensation benefits, connect with the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm. Our competent attorneys can help you determine eligibility for workers’ compensation benefits and guide you through your claim. Reach out to us at (833) 254-2923 or contact us online to set up an appointment to discuss your case.
Types of Lost Wage Benefits
A lot is at stake when you are hurt on the job. Protecting your future quality of life means getting back to work as quickly as possible. To accommodate varying injury levels, workers’ compensation in Georgia offers four different types of wage benefits:
Temporary Total Disability (TTD): The worker cannot work in any capacity during their recovery, but it is expected they will recover. Payments are 2/3 of the worker’s average weekly wage, subject to a cap set by state law. It is paid when you miss more than seven calendar days from employment due to a work-related injury or illness.
Temporary Partial Disability (TPD): The worker can return to work after the injury but earns less than pre-injury due to a change in job duties or hours. Payments are 66% of the difference between the injured worker’s average weekly wage before and after the injury, subject to a cap set by state law.
Permanent Partial Disability (PPD): This can be either scheduled or unscheduled. Scheduled PPD is for workers who have suffered injuries to designated body parts like eyes, hands, and feet. Unscheduled PPD is for injuries that do not fit into a scheduled classification and usually involve neurological injuries or neck and back injuries. Payments are 66% of the injured worker’s average weekly wage, subject to a cap set by state law. It is paid when you’ve suffered a permanent impairment that prevents you from doing your job as it was performed before the injury.
Permanent Total Disability (PTD): The worker has suffered an injury that prevents them from working or earning money in any job. This amount may continue for the rest of the injured worker’s life.
To qualify for workers’ compensation benefits, you need to prove that your injury at work caused your inability to return to work. You can provide your medical records and testimony from your doctors and witnesses to establish this. Suppose you cannot work due to your injury. In that case, benefits will be provided until you are ready to return to work, or for a maximum of 400 weeks in non-catastrophic injuries and life-long for catastrophic injuries.
Essential Things You Must Know About Workers’ Compensation
The law mandates that any business owner who employs three or more workers, including part-time employees, must have workers’ compensation insurance.
In the event of an accident, immediately notify your employer. Waiting longer than 30 days may result in you not receiving the lost wage benefits.
You can receive weekly benefits for up to 225 weeks if you cannot perform your job because you lost an arm, leg, or any other body part that restricts you from performing your job.
If you die due to a work injury, your spouse, children, or stepchildren will receive two-thirds of your average weekly wage or $675.00 per week, whichever is less.
How Are Lost Wage Benefits Calculated?
If you have a workers’ comp disability claim, the amount of lost wage benefits you receive depends on your income and compliance with workers’ comp rules. Losing wages due to a work injury can be financially detrimental, so you may want to assess your options carefully. You need to know how benefits are calculated in Georgia to better understand how much money you could receive. Currently, Georgia has a weekly maximum cap of $675. This amount is also the statewide minimum. So, if an injured victim’s income is less than the minimum amount for lost wages, they will receive at least that amount.
Based on your average weekly wage, you can calculate how much lost wage workers’ compensation benefits you are entitled to. You do this by dividing your gross pay, pre-tax, by the number of weeks you worked 13 weeks before your injury. It will give you your average weekly earnings. You might be able to use the weekly wage of a comparable employee or your annual salary divided by 52 weeks to calculate your benefits if you had not worked for the whole 13 weeks before you were injured.
In Georgia, workers’ compensation pays injured workers 2/3 of their average weekly wages. To determine how much you will receive, divide your wages by three and then multiply the result by two. This is the amount to which you will be entitled. If the total is higher than Georgia’s current maximum weekly benefit, you will be capped at the maximum.
Seek Professional Help from the CEO Lawyer for Your Workers’ Comp Claim
It can be devastating when you cannot work because of an occupational injury. If your injury is severe, you may need to miss a lot of time from work, and you may be entitled to disability payments. The process of filing a workers’ compensation claim can be complicated and time-consuming, so you must work with an experienced lawyer who can help you get the benefits you need.
At the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm, our Atlanta injury and accident attorneys have decades of experience behind them, and we are aware of the technical know-how of the system. We also know that when employers do not provide a safe working environment, they are violating your rights as an employee and need to be held accountable. We are here to make sure that happens for you so that you can focus on healing from your injuries. We are happy to provide you with a free case evaluation. Give us a call at (833) 254-2923 or fill out this online contact form.
Find Out What Your Case Is Worth Here
Tell Us More About Your Injury Below So That We Can Get You The Most Money
All Fields Required *
Frequently Asked Questions
After a personal injury, you're bound to have legal questions. The CEO Lawyer Ali Awad can provide you with answers to these questions, just as he's given answers to his millions of curious social media followers. Take a look at some of the most common personal injury law questions for general information, and then reach out to one of our seasoned attorneys for specific guidance on your case!
To quickly resolve matters following an accident, insurance companies will offer you less than you deserve in compensation for your injuries. Many victims feel pressured to accept these offers as the bills begin to pile up, but that is rarely a good idea. The insurance company is looking to protect its bottom line; and will offer injured victims less than they deserve. An experienced personal injury attorney understands how to negotiate with the insurance company and can look out for your best interests by getting you the compensation you deserve after an injury. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, it is important to avoid negotiating or providing recorded statements to the insurance company without first seeking help from a qualified personal injury attorney.
Do You Have a Personal Injury Case?
The best way to determine if you have a personal injury case is to speak with a knowledgeable attorney. Our legal professionals have the expertise to evaluate your case and determine a strong legal strategy so that you can obtain the greatest amount of compensation possible under the law. We will enlist investigators, assistants, and other specialists to collect accident reports, speak with witnesses to your accident, and put together a plan. While you focus on your physical recovery, we will remain committed to fighting for the compensation that you deserve.
Georgia's Personal Injury & Accident Firm
Accident victims have a limited time to file a personal injury lawsuit. This time period is referred to as the statute of limitations, and in Atlanta, it lasts only two years. This means that if you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, you have only two years to pursue a personal injury suit. If you wait too long to reach out to an experienced attorney, you might be forever barred from seeking the compensation you deserve.
What to Expect From Your Initial Consultation With a Personal Injury Attorney?
During your initial consultation with CEO Lawyer team, we will go over the important details of your personal injury accident, which include the nature and extent of your injuries, how your injuries have impacted your ability to earn a paycheck, the cost of your medical treatment, and whether further medical treatment will be required. We will answer any questions you might have, as well, in regards to our experience, our track record of success, and what to expect from the legal process.
Many personal injury victims wonder if they will be able to afford the legal fees required to pursue a lawsuit. CEO Lawyer injury and accident attorneys will not ask for any type of upfront fee unless we are successful in obtaining compensation for you. That means that if you have been harmed in a motor vehicle accident, slip and fall accident, defective product accident, or any other type of personal injury accident, you can absolutely afford to contact our law office today for assistance. In fact, you cannot afford to wait. Reach out today.
We understand that some accident victims might have already obtained the assistance of an attorney but may be dissatisfied with the services provided. We are standing by and prepared to help you change legal representation, regardless of where you are in the process.
Speak to an Experienced Personal Injury Attorney Today
If you or a loved one has been injured in any type of personal injury accident, you should not hesitate to speak with the experienced attorneys at CEO Lawyer personal injury law firm. Call, email, or fill out our online contact form today so that we can begin helping you pursue the compensation you deserve.