In Georgia, you will be arrested and have to appear in court if you are found to be operating a vehicle while intoxicated. You can receive a fine, a jail sentence, or have your license suspended, depending on how serious the offense was.
Please contact a Georgia car accident attorney at the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law firm immediately if you or a member of your family has been involved in a DUI/DWI accident. Ali Awad, ‘the CEO Lawyer,’ and his team of experienced personal injury attorneys at the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm by calling (833) 254-2923 or contacting us online to receive your free and confidential case evaluation. Attorney Ali Awad, ‘the CEO Lawyer,’ established the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm and quickly turned it into one of the fastest-growing law firms in the country. If we take your case, you won’t pay anything until we win.
Consequences of Drunk Driving
The two sorts of penalties for a DUI conviction in Georgia are administrative license suspension and judicial penalties. If you don’t appeal within the allotted period, your driver’s license can be suspended after your arrest. The ALS hearing is different from the DUI case. The maximum punishment for a first DUI conviction is a $1,000 fine, one year in jail, or both. Other possibilities include a substance dependency assessment, a DUI alcohol or drug usage course, and 40 hours of community service.
On July 1, 2008, Georgia became the first state to pass a felony DUI statute. Like every other nation, driving while intoxicated is prohibited in the United States. For driving while intoxicated, drivers in Georgia may be charged with a range of offenses. In Georgia, the crime may become a felony within ten (10) years, with a fourth DUI offense serving as the most frequent justification.
When establishing the severity of a first-time DUI conviction in Georgia, several variables must be considered. You can receive a year of probation or a jail sentence, depending on your offense’s severity. If you receive a sentence of 24 hours in jail, you will then receive a second sentence of 11 months and 29 days on probation, with the potential for a prison sentence if you break the terms of your release. In addition, a police officer in Georgia has the authority to request that the Department of Driver Services suspend your license. The police officer has the right to ask for suspension if you decline a blood, breath, or urine test.
A driving while intoxicated conviction can significantly affect a person’s life. If you are found guilty of a DUI, you could receive a jail sentence and a license suspension. You can also be expected to pay a sizable sum in addition to higher insurance costs.
Georgia’s Definition of a DUI
You may be charged with DUI regardless of your blood alcohol content (BAC) or whether you choose to submit to a state-mandated chemical test if the arresting officer determines that you are sufficiently inebriated to make driving less safe. Additionally, you may be prosecuted with DUI per se if chemical testing within three hours of driving reveals that your BAC is .08% or higher.
Criminal Penalties in Georgia for a First DUI
The particular punishments you’ll receive in Georgia for your first DUI conviction depend on a variety of variables. However, we discuss the range of potential punishments below.
For a first DUI, jail time and probation are required. A first-time DUI is often considered a misdemeanor. You may be ordered by the judge to serve up to 12 months in county jail. Prison is only available for punishments lasting longer than 12 months. Some judges may give you credit for the time you served while you were being detained and not force you to return to jail after receiving your sentence. However, the law stipulates that you must spend at least 24 hours in jail if your BAC was 0.8% or higher.
Your overall sentence cannot be less than a year, and if this is your first DUI, you will probably serve the majority of that time on probation rather than in jail. You’ll have to pay a monitoring fee while on probation, and your probation officer will keep an eye on you to ensure you’re fulfilling all the conditions of your sentence.
First-time DUI Offender Fines and Costs
Even if it’s your first offense, DUIs are costly. The range of fines is $300 to $1000, but when the necessary fees are applied, the sum might virtually quadruple.
The DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program (“Risk Reduction Program”)
A 20-hour course that costs more than $350 is another requirement. (The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS)) lists this course as one of the requirements for getting your license reissued.)
Community Service and Drug Abuse Treatment
You must also perform 40 hours of community service and participate in a professional assessment for drug or alcohol dependency. You will be sentenced to serve the recommended number of counseling sessions if the clinical evaluator finds that you require treatment.
Depending on your driving history, you might qualify for a restricted license to drive to and from work, school, and other permitted locations.
License sanctions for convictions for DUI and drugs
There are various regulations for license suspension if your DUI conviction was drug-related, meaning you were under the influence of both narcotics and alcohol.
Georgia Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer
A first DUI conviction typically doesn’t result in lengthy jail time. However, the judge can revoke all or part of your probation and send you to jail if you don’t comply with any portion of your sentence. As soon as you’re arrested, speak with an expert Georgia drunk driving accident lawyer to ensure you are aware of the punishments you face.
For counsel in your personal injury case and a free case examination, get in touch with Ali Awad and his team of experienced personal injury attorneys. All of our drunk driving accident lawsuits are handled on a contingency basis, meaning no fees are incurred until your case is settled or won. We provide free case reviews. Call Ali Awad, ‘the CEO Lawyer,’ and his experienced team of drunk driving accident attorneys today to receive a free, no-obligation consultation. We can assist you with exploring your legal options and avenues to ensure that you receive the compensation you deserve. Contact the CEO Lawyer Personal Injury Law Firm by calling (833) 254-2923 or contacting us online. If we take your case, you won’t pay anything until we win.
Find Out What Your Case Is Worth Here
Tell Us More About Your Injury Below So That We Can Get You The Most Money
All Fields Required *
Frequently Asked Questions
After a personal injury, you're bound to have legal questions. The CEO Lawyer Ali Awad can provide you with answers to these questions, just as he's given answers to his millions of curious social media followers. Take a look at some of the most common personal injury law questions for general information, and then reach out to one of our seasoned attorneys for specific guidance on your case!
To quickly resolve matters following an accident, insurance companies will offer you less than you deserve in compensation for your injuries. Many victims feel pressured to accept these offers as the bills begin to pile up, but that is rarely a good idea. The insurance company is looking to protect its bottom line; and will offer injured victims less than they deserve. An experienced personal injury attorney understands how to negotiate with the insurance company and can look out for your best interests by getting you the compensation you deserve after an injury. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, it is important to avoid negotiating or providing recorded statements to the insurance company without first seeking help from a qualified personal injury attorney.
Do You Have a Personal Injury Case?
The best way to determine if you have a personal injury case is to speak with a knowledgeable attorney. Our legal professionals have the expertise to evaluate your case and determine a strong legal strategy so that you can obtain the greatest amount of compensation possible under the law. We will enlist investigators, assistants, and other specialists to collect accident reports, speak with witnesses to your accident, and put together a plan. While you focus on your physical recovery, we will remain committed to fighting for the compensation that you deserve.
Georgia's Personal Injury & Accident Firm
Accident victims have a limited time to file a personal injury lawsuit. This time period is referred to as the statute of limitations, and in Atlanta, it lasts only two years. This means that if you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, you have only two years to pursue a personal injury suit. If you wait too long to reach out to an experienced attorney, you might be forever barred from seeking the compensation you deserve.
What to Expect From Your Initial Consultation With a Personal Injury Attorney?
During your initial consultation with CEO Lawyer team, we will go over the important details of your personal injury accident, which include the nature and extent of your injuries, how your injuries have impacted your ability to earn a paycheck, the cost of your medical treatment, and whether further medical treatment will be required. We will answer any questions you might have, as well, in regards to our experience, our track record of success, and what to expect from the legal process.
Many personal injury victims wonder if they will be able to afford the legal fees required to pursue a lawsuit. CEO Lawyer injury and accident attorneys will not ask for any type of upfront fee unless we are successful in obtaining compensation for you. That means that if you have been harmed in a motor vehicle accident, slip and fall accident, defective product accident, or any other type of personal injury accident, you can absolutely afford to contact our law office today for assistance. In fact, you cannot afford to wait. Reach out today.
We understand that some accident victims might have already obtained the assistance of an attorney but may be dissatisfied with the services provided. We are standing by and prepared to help you change legal representation, regardless of where you are in the process.
Speak to an Experienced Personal Injury Attorney Today
If you or a loved one has been injured in any type of personal injury accident, you should not hesitate to speak with the experienced attorneys at CEO Lawyer personal injury law firm. Call, email, or fill out our online contact form today so that we can begin helping you pursue the compensation you deserve.